Summary of ACT 069

 

▪ 

Employees in Vermont can earn up to a maximum of 24 hours (3 days) per year for the first two years
after implementation.
Following this two-year phase in, employees would gain access up to a ceiling of 40
hours (5 days) per year.

▪ 

Employers may require a waiting period for new hires of 1 year. During this probationary period, employees
would accrue, but not have access to earned time.

▪ 

Temporary and seasonal employees are excluded from this legislation (defined as working 20 weeks or
fewer per year).

▪ 

Employees under age 18 are excluded.

▪ 

Employees working on average 18 hours or less per week are excluded.

▪ 

Full and part-time employees must earn the equivalent of at least: 1 hour of paid time for every 52 hours worked.

▪ 

Employees must be permitted to use this time to:

Recover from or receive treatment for an illness or injury,

Care for a family member when they are ill,

Obtain diagnostic, routine, preventive, or therapeutic health care,

Take necessary steps for their safety as a result of sexual abuse, domestic violence, or stalking.

▪ 

All employers already offering equal or more generous paid time, combined time, paid sick time, or any
type
of paid leave that can be used for the purposes defined in the law (as listed above) would be
unaffected.
The law would NOT require a discrete paid sick time policy in addition to other paid time provided
by the employer. Likewise, employers who aren't currently meeting the minimum standard may meet the
requirement with the same flexibility.

▪ 

New employers are given an additional year waiting period from the date of their first hire before having
to implement this policy.

▪ 

Employers with five or fewer employees are given an additional waiting period before having to
implement this policy (January 1, 2018).

▪ 

Employers’ own policies determine the time increments by which workers may use their sick time. For example,
if an employer has a policy requiring workers to take at least half a day of time when they are absent, that policy
stands for the purposes of this legislation.

▪ 

Tipped employees would be compensated at no less than the minimum wage for non-tipped employees.

▪ 

Employers may require employees to make reasonable efforts to find a replacement for planned absences and
avoid scheduling routine or preventive health care during work hours.

▪ 

If unused hours are carried over from a previous year, an employee may earn the balance between the unused
portion and the maximum allowed.

▪ 

If an employer chooses to pay an employee for unused time at the end of an annual period, the amount for which
the employee was compensated does not carry over into the next year.

▪ 

Employers are not required to cash out unused paid sick time when an employee leaves the job.

▪ 

The Department of Labor and the Agency of Commerce and Community Development will conduct a survey of
Vermont employers with five or fewer employees regarding the number of employees, the hourly wage, and the
amount of time off provided.

▪ 

Act will take effect on January 1

st

2017.