SPFL Reorganisation

Accommodating the premature end of season 19/20 and creating a manageable structure for the future of Scottish football

Proposed League Tier Structure



Premiership Structure

14 Teams in Phase 1 Pre- Split

- 26 Games each
- Play each team home and away
- Stop for mid season break end of January

Top 8 teams Split into Premiership 1

- Play each other home and away
- 14 games post split 40 game season

Bottom Six joined by top 2 from Championship

- Play Each other home and away
- League trophy for the champions
- 14 games post split 40 game season (36 for Championship teams)

Premiership Pre-Split

POS	TEAM
1	Celtic
2	Rangers
3	Motherwell
4	Aberdeen
5	Livingston
6	Hibernian
7	St. Johnstone
8	Kilmarnock
9	St. Mirren
10	Ross County
11	Hamilton Academical
12	Heart of Midlothian
13	Dundee United
14	Inverness Caledonian Thistle

2 top teams promoted from championship at the split

Premiership 1 (Post Split)

POS	TEAM
1	Celtic
2	Rangers
3	Motherwell
4	Aberdeen
5	Livingston
6	Hibernian
7	St. Johnstone
8	Kilmarnock

Premiership 2 (Post Split)

POS	TEAM
1	St. Mirren
2	Ross County
3	Hamilton Academical
4	Heart of Midlothian
5	Dundee United
6	Inverness Caledonian Thistle
7	Dundee
8	Ayr United

Championship Structure

12 Teams in Pre-split phase

- Play each other home and away (22 games)
- Top 2 promoted at the split

10 Team Post Split Phase

- Remaining teams play a further 2 times (18 games)
- League Trophy for the Champions
- Bottom team relegated

Playoffs

- Top 2 teams play off with 2nd & 3rd bottom of Premiership 2 for promotion (2nd top v 3rd bottom and top v 2nd bottom followed by final)
- 2nd bottom plays off with runner up from League 1 playoffs

Championship (Pre-Split)

POS	TEAM
1	Dundee
2	Ayr United
3	Dunfermline Athletic
4	Arbroath
5	Morton
6	Alloa Athletic
7	Queen of the South
8	Partick Thistle
9	Raith Rovers
10	Falkirk
11	Airdrieonians
12	Montrose

Championship Post Split

POS	TEAM
1	Dunfermline Athletic
2	Arbroath
3	Morton
4	Alloa Athletic
5	Queen of the South
6	Partick Thistle
7	Raith Rovers
8	Falkirk
9	Airdrieonians
10	Montrose

League 1 structure

North and South leagues to reduce travel expenditure and create more derbies

10 team leagues (1 team added each from highland and lowland leagues. Further 2 to be added either from same or Colt teams

• Play 4 times (36 Games)

Playoffs to decide automatic promotion

- Top of North v 2nd in South and top of South v 2nd in North
- Winner automatically promoted
- Runner Up plays 2nd bottom

League 1 North

POS	TEAM
1	Elgin City
2	A. N. Other
3	East Fife
4	Stenhousemuir
5	Cowdenbeath
6	Peterhead
7	Forfar Athletic
8	Brechin City
9	Cove Rangers
10	Brora Rangers FC

POS TEAM A.N. Other 1 Dumbarton 2 3 Clyde Queen's Park 4 Annan Athletic 5 6 Stranraer **Albion Rovers** 7 **Kelty Hearts** 8 **Stirling Albion** 9 **Edinburgh City** 10

League 1 South