

Joint Statement by a group of Ministers of the High Ambition Coalition 1 June 2017

"We are deeply disappointed by today's decision. Our commitment to the Paris Agreement is unshakeable. We have every reason to fight for its full implementation: our families, our health, our welfare, our security, our economies and our livelihoods."

"As responsible climate leaders, we will continue to move decisively towards a more sustainable and competitive economy. Let us see the Paris Agreement and the low-carbon transition for what it is: the growth engine of our jobs and economies, and the key to our collective prosperity and well-being."

"For people around the world most vulnerable to climate change the Paris Agreement represents the best hope for survival."

Issued on behalf of the following Ministers:

Mattlan Zackhras, Minister-in-Assistance to the President, Marshall Islands (Convenor of the HAC) Frank Bainimarama, Prime Minister, Fiji (Incoming COP23 President) Rabbi Sergio Bergman, Minister of Environment & Sustainable Development, Argentina José Sarney Filho, Minister of Environment, Brazil Heraldo Muñoz, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Chile Marcelo Mena, Minister of Environment, Chile Luis Gilberto Murillo, Minister of Environment & Sustainable Development, Colombia Edgar Gutiérrez, Minister of Environment & Energy, Costa Rica Miguel Arias Cañete, Commissioner for Climate Action & Energy, European Union Kimmo Tiilikainen, Minister of Energy & Environment, Finland Nicolas Hulot, Minister for the Ecological & Inclusive Transition, France Barbara Hendricks, Minister of Environment & Nature Conservation, Germany Simon Stiell, Minister of Education & Environment, Grenada Björt Ólafsdóttir, Minister for the Environment & Natural Resources, Iceland Aurelia Frick, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Liechtenstein Carole Dieschbourg, Minister of Environment, Luxembourg Rafael Pacchiano, Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources, Mexico Hakima El Haité, Special Envoy for Climate Change, Morocco Sharon Dijksma, Minister for Environment, Netherlands Paula Bennett, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Climate Change, New Zealand Vidar Helgesen, Minister of Climate & Environment, Norway Gale T.C. Rigobert, Minister for Sustainable Development, Saint Lucia Isabella Lövin, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for International Development & Climate, Sweden Doris Leuthard, Minister for Environment, Energy & Transport, Switzerland Eneida De León, Minister for Housing, Land Planning & Environment, Uruguay Additional signatories to be confirmed.

#CommittedtoParis HAC@HighAmbitionCoalition.org