2018 Scientist of the Year Dinner

Investing in Our Bright Future

Honoring FRED "RUSTY" GAGE, Ph.D. President, Salk Institute

Keynote Speaker MARY WALSHOK, Ph.D. Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Programs, UC San Diego

Supporting ARCS Scholar Fund



San Diego Chapter ACHIEVEMENT REWARDS FOR COLLEGE SCIENTISTS

2018 Scientist of the Year Fred "Rusty" Gage, Ph.D.



Fred "Rusty" H. Gage, Ph.D., President and Adler Professor in the Laboratory of Genetics, joined The Salk Institute in 1995. He received his Ph.D. in 1976 from The Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Gage's work concentrates on the adult central nervous system and unexpected plasticity and adaptability to environmental stimulation that remains throughout the life of all mammals. His lab showed that human beings are capable of growing new nerve cells throughout life, in a

process called neurogenesis. Gage's team explores how these cells can be prompted to become mature, functioning nerve cells in the adult brain and spinal cord. He also showed that environmental enrichment and physical exercise can enhance the growth of new brain cells. The team also continues to study the underlying cellular and molecular mechanisms of neurogenesis to find possible avenues to repair damaged or aging brains. Prior to joining Salk, Dr. Gage was a Professor of Neuroscience at the University of California, San Diego. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine, and American Philosophical Society, a foreign member of the European Molecular Biology Organization and a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Keynote Speaker Mary Walshok, Ph.D.

Mary Walshok Ph.D., author, educator, and researcher is Associate Vice Chancellor for public programs and Dean of Extension at the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Walshok is the author of six books and more than 100 articles and reports on aligning workforce development with regional economic growth. She oversees a \$50 million, 200employee division that annually serves more than 65,000 enrollees through innovative local and online programs,



including UCSD-TV and UCTV, which reaches over 22 million households.

ARCS Mission

ARCS Foundation advances science and technology in the United States by providing financial awards to academically outstanding U.S. citizens studying to complete degrees in science, engineering and medical research.

You are cordially invited to attend the

2018 Scientist of the Year Dinner

Honoring Fred "Rusty" Gage, Ph.D.

Keynote Speaker Mary Walshok, Ph.D. "TALENT: The Secret to Innovative Regions"

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 1380 Harbor Island Dr. San Diego, CA 92101

6:00 p.m. - Reception & ARCS Scholars' Research Poster Session

7:15 p.m. - Dinner

Helga Moore, ARCS President Mary Lou Quick, ARCS Co-President

For event information or tax receipt contact: Joy Brown (858) 361-5530 or email: ohjoy731@gmail.com

Diamond Title Sponsors





Scientist of the Year Dinner 2018 Honorary Committee

Dr. Stuart Lipton, M.D., Ph.D. - Honorary Chair Neurologist, Adjunct Professor of Neurosciences, UC San Diego Health

Honorary Members

Cathie Atkins, Ph.D., Associate Dean, College of Sciences, San Diego State University Malin Burnham, Honorary Trustee, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute Linda Chester, Principal, Linda Chester Literary Agency Martha Dennis, Ph.D., Principal, Gordian Knot Peter Farrell, Ph.D., Founder and Chairman, ResMed Inc. Jane Georges, Ph.D., RN, Dean, Hahn School of Nursing, University of San Diego Jeanne Herberger, Ph.D., Vice President, Herberger Enterprises, Inc. Reena Horowitz, Founder Fishman Fund, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute James T. Harris III, Ed.D., President, University of San Diego John Ippolito, President, San Diego Region, Northern Trust Jeanne Jones, Author, Businesswoman, Philanthropist Pradeep K. Khosla, Ph.D., Chancellor, UC San Diego Jesse J. Knight Jr., Community Leader Greg Lucier*, CEO NuVasive Catie Madani, Ph.D., RN, President La Jolla Nursing Michael Madani, MD, Director, UC San Diego Cardiovascular Center Jack McGrory, CEO La Jolla MJ Management, LLC, CSU Trustee, J. Craig Venter Board of Trustees Greg McKee, CEO, CONNECT Gail Naughton*, Ph.D., Founder, Chief Scientific Officer, Histogen, Inc. Karen Nelson*, Ph.D., President, J.Craig Venter Institute Walter Oechel, Ph.D., Dean (Interim) College of Sciences, San Diego State University Joe Panetta, President and CEO, BIOCOM Kenneth Rind, Ph.D., Partner, Rind Associates Peter Schultz. Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, Scripps Research Holly Smithson, CEO, Athena William Tong, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Analytical and Physical, San Diego State University Eric Topol*, MD, Executive Vice President, Scripps Research; Director, Scripps Research Translational Institute Kristiina Vuori, M.D., Ph.D., President, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute David Wellis, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, San Diego Blood Bank Ruth Westreich, President, The Westreich Foundation Judith K. White, OCR, Entrepreneur, Philanthropist Governor Pete Wilson and Gavle Wilson

*Former Scientist of the Year