Lead Chairs:

Lara Larramendi Michael Wagaman

Credentials Committee, California Democratic Party

RE: Removal of DSCC members who have violated State Party By-Laws

2/21/2018

It has come to our attention that a number of DSCC members have violated Section 9 Paragraph b of the California Democratic Party state bylaws by actively supporting a candidate for partisan office in the top two primary who is registered as other than Party Preference Democrat.

The Bylaws are extremely clear:

b. This Committee may remove any member if, during his/her term of membership, such member affiliates with or registers as other than Party Preference Democratic; publicly avows preference for another party; publicly advocates that the voters should not vote for the endorsed candidate of This Committee for any office; or who publicly gives support to or avows a preference for a candidate registered as other than Party Preference Democratic in the voter nominated top two primary. (CDP By-Laws, Section 9, paragraph b)

The delegates in question are:

Chris Barosso Amanda Mascia Carol Skiljan Stephen Bartram Christine Levin Elizabeth Warren PJ Duke Mustafa Nizam Barbara Mead Kyle Thayer Linda Breen Cipriano Vargas

1. Chris Barroso.

On 2/19/18, DSCC member Chris Barosso posted an article on his Facebook page from the publication *voxpublica.org* attacking Democratic candidate for Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis. Along with the article Barosso wrote: "I'm now supporting Gayle McLaughlin."

Gayle McLaughlin is a former Green who re-registered as No Party Preference, and is running for Lieutenant Governor as a No Party Preference candidate.

The article attacking Kounalakis was written by another DSCC delegate named Magarita Lacabe. The article mentioned that Gayle McLaughlin was running and McLaughlin was "a good Berniecrat" but, citing CDP rules, quite pointedly did not endorser her:

However, a former Green who became an NPP to vote for Sanders, McLaughlin is running for Lt Governor as a "no party preference" candidate. This means that she is not eligible for the Democratic Party endorsement and that <u>delegates to the California Democratic Party Central Committee, cannot publicly support her or avow a preference for her.</u> I am thus doing neither.

(Margarita Lacabe, voxpublica.org, 1/4/18)

https://www.voxpublica.org/2018/01/04/eleni-kounalakis-candidate-for-california-lt-governor-is-not-the-progressive-she-claims-to-be/

Barroso, however, despite the warning in the article he re-posted, disregarded the directions and quite unequivocally endorsed McLaughlin. Barroso's post is attached below:



2. Delegates:

Chris Barosso Amanda Mascia Carol Skiljan Stephen Bartram Christine Levin Elizabeth Warren PJ Duke Mustafa Nizam Barbara Mead Kyle Thayer Linda Breen Cipriano Vargas

All 12 of the above named members of the DSCC signed the "Petition in Lieu" for NPP Lieutenant Governor candidate Gayle McLaughlin.

By signing the "In Lieu of Petition" these 12 voters were nominating McLaughlin for the ballot and assisting McLaughlin by reducing her filing fee for appearing on the ballot. Under state law signers of inlieu petition can only sign a petition for one candidate in that office. That proscription is clearly delineated on the petition itself.

By nominating a Non-Party Preference Democrat for office in the top two primary, these 12 DSCC members have helped to undermine the likelihood of a Democrat advancing to the General election.

We ask that the CDP Credentials Committee take immediate action to remove these delegates in order to prevent them from unfairly intervening in the Democratic endorsement process when they have already made it clear that they support a non-Democrat for the office of Lieutenant Governor.

Sincerely,

Denise Penn Executive Board Member Member, Voter Services Committee Chair, LGBT Caucus

Mulaletkaf

Melahat Rafiei Executive Board Member Member, Rules Committee

Joner Wilmsh

Howard Welinsky Executive Board Member Lead Chair, Platform Committee