

To the attention of:

Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis Geniki Grammateia Prothipourgou, Megaro Maximou,Irodou Attikou 19, 10674 Athens

Minister of Justice Konstantinos Tsiaras Leoforos Mesogeion 96, 11527 Athens

19 April 2021

SUBJECT: Assassination of journalist Giorgos Karaivaz

Dear Prime Minister Mitsotakis, Dear Minister of Justice Tsiaras,

On behalf of the Democracy, Rule of Law and Fundamental Rights Monitoring Group (DRFMG) I am honoured to chair, I wish to express my sincerest condolences for the murder of the journalist Giorgos Karaivaz on 9 April 2021.

The DRFMG has been established after the assassinations of journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia in Malta and of journalist Ján Kuciak and his fiancée Martina Kušnírová in Slovakia.

We, therefore, take into utmost consideration media freedom, the independence of journalism, the safety of investigative journalists and the need to fight corruption in the European Union.

The brutality of this murder represents a further testimony of the degrading environment and increasing threats journalists have been experiencing all over the EU. The exceptional gravity of this case in Greece left the public as well as the media in shock.

Giorgos Karaivaz was an investigative journalist reporting on organised crime and corruption, allegedly involving high-ranking personalities. The motivation for the murder is yet unknown, but the circumstances dictate the most thorough and rapid investigation.

In view of this, we would be very interested to receive a detailed overview of the state of play regarding current investigations, insofar as it is not covered by confidentiality.

Should you suspect any EU cross-border aspect, we would invite you to consider the opportunity to engage Europol in cross-borders investigations.

With kind regards,

Sophie in 't Veld

Chair - Democracy, Rule of Law and Fundamental Rights Monitoring Group (DRFMG) Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs - European Parliament

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Democracy, Rule of Law and Fundamental Rights Monitoring Group



CC:

Ioannis Vrailas, Permanent Representative of Greece in the EU David Sassoli, President of European Parliament Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Chair of LIBE Committee