STATEMENT OF SUPPORT FOR PROFESSOR GLENDA GRAY AND THE PRINCIPLE OF ACADEMIC FREEDOM OF SPEECH

"As scientists, academics and policy experts, we are committed to being part of the complex policy response and debate on dealing with the epidemic of SARS-CoV-2 (the cause of COVID-19) in South Africa. We recognize that it is impossible to have perfected the response to the epidemic, but course correction should be rapid and not defensive. With that in mind, we condemn the specific threat made against Professor Glenda Gray for expressing her opinion in public, which is totally out of step with the public pronouncements made by the President, welcoming criticism. We uphold the right to academic freedom of speech, and call on the South African government to engage openly with alternate views, and for all of us to urgently work towards constructive solutions regarding policy, in the interests of the country"

Current signatures (alphabetic order): (note, this list was assembled on Saturday evening, and finalised at 6.45 pm; additional names may be added)

Professor Cathi Albertyn, School of Law, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Lucy Allais, Professor of Philosophy, University of the Witwatersrand, Henry Alison chair of the History of Philosophy, UCS

Professor Linda-Gail Bekker, Director, Desmond Tutu HIV Foundation, University of Cape Town

Dr Duanne Blaauw, School of Public Health, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Keith Breckenridge, WISER, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Catherine Burns, Associate Professor of Medical History; Adler Museum of Medicine; Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Nithaya Chetty, Dean, Faculty of Science, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Usuf Chikte, Emeritus Professor, Department of Global Health, Stellenbosch University

Professor Jason Cohen, Deputy Dean, Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management, University of the Witwatersrand

Dr Francesca Conradie, Clinical HIV Research Unit, University of Witwatersrand

Dr Aslam Dasoo, Progressive Health Forum

Prof Joel Dave, Head of Division of Endocrinology, University of Cape Town

Professor Ames Dhai, Professor of Bioethics, University of Witwatersrand

Professor David Everatt, Wits School of Government, University of the Witwatersrand

Dr Dean Gopalan, President Critical Care Society of South Africa

Professor Adam Habib, Vice Chancellor, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Shireen Hassim, WISER, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Ian Jandrell, Dean, Faculty of Engineering the the Built Environment, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Bavesh Kana, Personal Professor, Wits University

Professor Kathy Kahn, School of Public Health, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Uma Kollamparambil, Head, School of Economics and Finance, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Naomi Levitt, Emeritus Professor of Endocrinolgy, University of Cape Town

Professor Gary Maartens, Head of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Cape Town

Professor Shabir Madhi, Professor of Vaccinology and Director of the MRC Respiratory and Meningeal Pathogens Research Unit, University of the Witwatersrand

Dr Gloria Maimela, Director: Health Programmes, Wits Reproductive Health and HIV Institute, University of the Witwatersrand

Dr Moeketsi Mathe, private practice, lecturer, University of Witwatersrand

Professor Marc Mendelson, Head of Division of Infectious Diseases & HIV Medicine, University of Cape Town

Prof James McIntyre, School of Public Health & Family Medicine, University of Cape Town

Professor Shaheen Mehtar, Emeritus Professor, Stellenbosch University

Professor Mike Morris, Economics, University of Cape Town

Dr Jeremy Nel, Department of Clinical Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Ntobeko Ntusi, Head of Medicine, University of Cape Town

Dr Regina Osih, Senior Technical Expert, Aurum Institute

Prof Peter Raubenheimer Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town

Dr Haroun Rhemtula, Head of Clinical Unit and Head of Obstetrics, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, CMJAH and University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Guy Richards, Emeritus Professor, University of the Witwatersrand

Mr Fana Sibanyoni, Chief Operations Officer, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Mark Sonderup, Division of Hepatology, University of Cape Town

Professor Jantjie Taljaard, Head of Divison of Infectious Diseases, University of Stellenbosch

Professor Steven Tollman, School of Public Health, University of the Witwatersrand

Prof Imraan Valodia, Dean, Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Alex Van Den Heever, Chair in the field of Social Security at the Wits School of Governance

Professor Martin Veller, Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Witwatersrand

Professor Francois Venter, Ezintsha, sub-division of Wits Reproductive Health and HIV Institute, University of the Witwatersrand

Prof Zeblon Vilakazi, DVC Research, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Jimmy Volmink, Dean Faculty of Health Sciences, Stellenbosch university

Professor Sean Wasserman, Infectious Diseases. Groote Schuur Hospital, University of Cape Town

Prof Nicola Wearne, Division of Nephrology, University of Cape Town

Professor Edward Webster, Southern Centre for Inequality Studies, University of the Witwatersrand

Professor Robin Wood, Director, Desmond Tutu HIV Centre, University of Cape Town

Dr Adrienne Wulfsohn, Emergency and Disaster Medicine, KZN

Correspondence to Professor Francois Venter, fventer@wrhi.ac.za, venter.francois@gmail.com